Our Lady asks us to fast, especially on Wednesdays and Fridays.

Moderators: Andy08, mamamary

By aqueisce
I have been fasting for about 4 years now on wednesdays and fridays and I am at the point of not being able to eat bread anymore. I have discovered sweet bread which has made a huge difference. It is still plain bread but just has a sweeter flavour. Also throughout the day, some breadsticks are quite a nice snack on a fast day. I think its good idea to not eat bread on the other days of the week so it might make it easier on the fasting day to eat it. Its better than not eating anything at all, so I'm wondering is there others that are having trouble eating bread?

thanks,
:D
By OnASpiritualJourney2
Wow Acquisce - I missed your post back in January.

I had the same thing happen to me. I couldn't even walk down the bread aisle in the supermarket. :P For a time, I either didn't eat bread, or I ate rice instead. After a few months of avoiding bread, I was able to eat it occasionally again. Now I can eat bread on fast days, or I just fast entirely. Crackers can also be easier to eat than bread when you're going through the bread aversion stage. I think it's the yeast that becomes so hard to take. Matzos were also great as they're unleavened. :D
By missy
On occasion.... Try the bakery in your grocery store and some butter and jam.
By Angelica
I am having serious trouble fasting. Now that I am fifty it is getting so hard. I hate bread. In addition, I have digestive problems that are causing me all kinds of trouble. However, it is time for me to put excuses aside. I have been able to fast in the past. Would anyone mind praying with me for this grace? I know I have to get this back in my life. Cutting out TV etc is not the same for me.
Blessings
By Andy08
Aqueisce,